New J. F. Oakes Album ACORN Drops November 26

  • j-f-oakes-acorn-promo
In a little over two weeks, my friend and Southern rocker extraordinaire J. F. Oakes will be releasing a career retrospective album worldwide, and with a whopping 30 tracks, the record’s sure to be a must-buy. The project, titled Ten Years and an Acorn, features tracks spanning the entirety of Oakes’s recording career, including selections from both of his solo albums, a couple of non-album singles, newly recorded material, alternate cuts, a live cut, plus seven remastered tracks from his tenure with Baton Rouge-based Southern rock powerhouse, The 484 South Band. 
I’ve had the opportunity to hear the alt takes and new recordings, and they do not disappoint. The new original “Wolf in a Suit” is particularly excellent and guaranteed to knock the socks off “folksy humor” fans, while the alternate version of “One-Sided Story” is even better than the original—which was already a gem in Oakes’s catalog.
Most of the tracklist, however, reads like a “best of” roster. “Take,” “No Words,” “Southern Angel,” “Road Less Traveled,” “Blame (feat. Abbey Graham Butler),” “Sweet Memories,” “Weeping Willow,” and “Bless Your Heart” all make the cut, as does a remastered version of the ‘shiner vs. lawman ballad “A Devil’s Bullet,” featuring…well, me! But I’m not counting it among Oakes’s best because I appear on it. Rather, it’s an upper-echelon track because of the superb songwriting, and that’s all Oakes.
Unfortunately, there are a couple of notable absences, for me at least, and I can’t say I’m not a little disappointed. “Gypsy Queen” from 2017’s West of Capricorn, for instance, is nowhere in sight, nor is the rare holiday track “My Christmas Wish (A Live-ly Remembrance).” I particularly would’ve loved to have heard a remixed/remastered version of the latter. (Maybe on the next compilation, Fifteen Years and a Cornucopia!)
My minor quibbles notwithstanding, the release is an excellent compilation that is bound to please any current J. F. Oakes fan, while serving as a stellar introduction to newcomers.
Ten Years and an Acorn is out worldwide November 26, 2019.

Pre-order on iTunes

Complete Tracklist:
1. Lost Highway (The 484 South Band) [Remastered]
2. Baton Rouge (The 484 South Band) [Remastered]
3. The Road (The 484 South Band) [Remastered]
4. No Words (The 484 South Band) [Remastered]
5. Take (The 484 South Band) [Remastered]
6. Southern Angel (The 484 South Band) [Remastered]
7. Born and Raised (The 484 South Band) [Remastered]
8. Long-Haired Country Boy
9. Wolf in a Suit
10. Can’t Go Back
11. Road Less Traveled
12. Blame
13. These Chains
14. Sweet Memories
15. A Day Too Long
16. Blame (feat. Greg Smith) [Live]
17. A Devil’s Bullet (feat. Cole Powell) [Remastered]
18. Will the Circle Be Unbroken (Remastered)
19. Low Down
20. The Weight of Love
21. Six-Feet Under
22. Lucky
23. The Weeping Willow (A Civil War Lament)
24. Bless Your Heart
25. C’est La Vie (Money Train)
26. Love or Hate (No Fool) [Alternate]
27. The Weeping Willow (A Civil War Lament) [Alternate]
28 One-Sided Story (Alternate)
29. Low Down (Alternate Mix)
30. I Shall Be Released

Join Mailing List
And receive a FREE digital copy of Redux